Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense in Georgia that carries harsh penalties, including hefty fines, jail time, and a suspension of your driver’s license. If you are arrested for DUI, you need the strong defense that the DUI defense lawyers of Phillips Carson Phillips can provide. We provide an aggressive DUI defense to individuals in Savannah and the surrounding coastal empire.
We can help to reduce your drunk driving charges — and, in some cases, have them dismissed altogether.
At Phillips Carson Phillip, we have been representing clients charged with DUI in Georgia for many years. We understand the complexity of DUI cases, and we know how to build a strong defense to protect your rights and freedom.
What is Considered a DUI in Georgia?
A DUI charge in Georgia occurs when an individual operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The Georgia Department of Driver Services outlines specific blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits for drivers of different ages. For those under the age of 21, the legal limit is 0.02%. For drivers over 21, the legal limit is 0.08%. Commercial drivers have a stricter Georgia BAC limit of only 0.04% .
Penalties for DUI Convictions in Georgia
If you are found guilty of a DUI charge in Georgia, the penalties can be severe.
FIRST TIME OFFENDER – An initial DUI conviction can result in a fine of at least $300, up to one year in jail, and license suspension for up to 12 months. Additionally, you may be ordered to attend DUI school and may be required to perform community service.
SECOND OFFENSE – If you are convicted of a second DUI within a 10-year period, the fines and penalties become even more severe. You could face up to 12 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and a license suspension of up to 36 months. You will also be required to undergo an alcohol evaluation and attend a mandated alcohol and drug education course.
THIRD AND MORE – If you are facing your third DUI conviction within a 10-year period, you could be classified as a habitual violator, and your license may be suspended for up to five years. In addition to time in jail, you may be required to pay a fine of up to $5,000 and perform community service.
OTHER RELATED DUI CHARGES – Along with DUI charges, there can be additional criminal charges that can also carry there own punishments. Reckless driving, aggravated DUI, vehicular homicide, vehicular manslaughter, and involuntary manslaughter could also be charged if someone was seriously injured or died as a result of driving while intoxicated. If convicted of these crimes, penalties could include life imprisonment.
Contact Phillips Carson Phillips – Savannah DUI Defense Lawyers
At Phillips Carson Phillips, we pride ourselves on our ability to provide excellent legal representation to our clients. We have extensive courtroom experience. When it makes sense because it will produce the best legal outcome, we will negotiate with the prosecution. But we are skilled, successful trial lawyers and are always prepared to take a case to court.
When you contact us, we will begin to evaluate your case and develop a plan of action to achieve the best possible outcome. Contact us by calling (912) 232-0081 or using our online contact form.