First-Time DUI Offender
Getting your first DUI is not a milestone you want to reach. It can lead to a range of legal issues that can take a long time to unravel. A first-time DUI offender often finds himself in front of a judge, trying to get the charges dropped. While possible, it largely depends on the situation, some luck, and having the right lawyers on your side.
Phillips Carson Phillips defends first-time offenders, and we have a history of getting the results that they want. If you are charged with a DUI, and it is your first time, contact Phillips Carson Phillips for assistance. This is what you can expect to happen next with your first DUI.
What Constitutes a DUI in Georgia?
To qualify as a DUI in Georgia under statute 40-63-391, you have to be arrested with clear evidence that you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In the case of alcohol, the legal blood alcohol limit is 0.8%. For drugs, it is more difficult to tell since there is not a clear test for it. However, if your performance is visibly impaired, you can be required to take a drug test at the hospital.
Possible Penalties for Your First DUI
There are several possible penalties that you can expect if convicted of a DUI. These include:
● A fine of $300 to $1,000
● 1 day to 1 year in jail
The penalties you actually receive depend on the judge in your case and the severity of your case. You could have the jail time completely waived if it was a minor incident and you are a first-time offender. However, you can receive a maximum of a $1,000 fine and a year in jail on your first offense if it is serious enough.
Do I Need a Lawyer on My First Offense?
Any time you are charged with a crime, it is in your best interest to hire legal representation with the right expertise to help you. This is especially true for a first offender. You have no experience with this type of situation and should have someone on your side who can guide you.
Having a good lawyer also means possibly having penalties waived if convicted. Contact a lawyer about your case to see what results you can reasonably expect.
Contact a Savannah Criminal Defense Attorney
When you are charged with a DUI, your first offense can be a turning point. Either you’ll face a significant disruption to your life, or you’ll get off easy. How your case ends largely depends on the quality of your legal representation. Make sure you have good representation in place to help you. Contact Phillips Carson Phillips by calling (912) 232-0081 or using our online contact form to schedule a free consultation today.