DUI with Underage Drivers
The consequences of driving under the influence can be serious and far-reaching, especially if you are charged with DUI as an underage driver in Georgia. Underage DUI charges can have a major impact on your life, from immobilizing your ability to drive to affecting your reputation and future college and employment opportunities. If you or your child has been charged with a DUI as an underage driver, contact Phillips Carson Phillips to schedule a free consultation. It’s important to discuss your legal options and to build your defense as soon as possible.
Legal Blood Alcohol Concentration Limit for Underage Drivers
In accordance with standard DUI laws, all drivers have a BAC limit of .08%. For minors, however, there is a Zero Tolerance Law that sets a BAC limit of .02%. If a minor driver registers any amount above 0.02%, they will face charges under Georgia’s DUI laws.
Penalties for DUIs for Underage Drivers
The penalties for underage DUI will depend on the seriousness of the offense and whether it’s your first time being charged with this type of crime. If you are charged with underage DUI in Georgia, you could face:
● Jail time ranging from 24 hours for first-time offenders up to 12 months for multiple offenses
● Court fines up to $1,000
● Community service
● Suspension or revocation of your driver’s license
● Attendance at an alcohol education program or substance abuse treatment program
It’s also important to understand that an underage DUI conviction could haunt you long after any fines are paid or jail time served. An impaired driving charge on your record can make it difficult to get into college or find employment down the road — both of which could significantly impact your life in many ways. Plus, some insurance companies may refuse coverage if you have been convicted of an underage DUI offense within three years prior to applying for coverage.
Contact a Savannah Criminal Defense Attorney
If you or your loved one has been charged with an underage DUI, it’s important to build a strong defense to try to stop the conviction. You can work with your lawyer to discuss what happened to decide which next steps to take. Often, there are strategies available to you that you may not have considered. Contact Phillips Carson Phillips by calling (912) 232-0081 or using our online contact form to schedule a free consultation today.